2022 Award Winners

Airport of the Year Awards

Small Regional (non-RPT) Aerodrome of the Year

Winner: Bairnsdale Airport

East Gippsland Shire Council

Safety, security & improvements

Small Regional (RPT) Airport of the Year

Winner: Merimbula Airport

Bega Valley Shire Council

Merimbula Airport the Gateway to the Sapphire Coast

Large Regional Airport of the Year

Winner: Whitsunday Coast Airport

Whitsunday Regional Council

Navigating Through & Prospering in a Covid World

Major Airport of the Year 

Winner: Gold Coast Airport

Queensland Airports Limited

Gold Coast Airport terminal expansion

Metro Airport of the Year

Winner: Moorabbin Airport

Moorabbin Airport Corporation

Moorabbin Airport – Safe, sustainable & improved airfield

Capital City of the Year

Winner: Adelaide International Airport

ADL – Everyone’s Favourite Airport


Airport Excellence Awards

Commercial Award

Winner: Perth Airport

T1 International Aspire Lounge

Infrastructure Award

Winner: Adelaide International Airport

$200m Terminal Expansion – Connecting SA to the world

Innovation Award

Winner: Brisbane Airport

Brazilian Keyhole Wasps given no-fly orders around Brisbane Airport 

Sustainability Award

Winner: Brisbane Airport

Cutting emissions using Artificial Intelligence


Corporate Project of the Year Awards

Small Regional Airport/Aerodrome

Winner: Fulton Hogan Infrastructure Services

Groote Eylandt Airport Runway Project 

Large Regional Airport

Winner: GHD & GHDWoodhead, Ahrens and BMD

Maintenance Hangar Precinct for Rockhampton Airport  


Major, Metro and Capital City Airport

Winner: AECOM 

Melbourne Airport Pavement – Maintenance Program (MAP MP)